Scientific Program

Plenary Lecturers

Adam Heller (Biography)
University of Texas, USA
Adam Heller is Chief Science Officer of SynAgile Corporation, Research Professor at the McKetta Department of Chemical Engineering of the University of Texas, and Consultant to Abbott Diabetes Care. He pioneered liquid lasers (1966), the lithium thionyl chloride battery (1972), efficient photoelectrochemical solar cells (1977-1981), and the electrical wiring of redox enzymes (1987-2005), underlying the bloodless FreeStyle LibreTM continuous glucose monitoring system of Abbott Diabetes Care. He co-founded with Ephraim Heller TheraSense, where he cao-developed in 1996-2000 the first painless FreeStyle microcoulometric blood glucose monitoring system. The impact of his contributions is evident from his Google citation index of 49,885, his h-index of 124 and his having been granted 269 US patents and numerous international patents, most on actually manufactured and worldwide available products. The benefit of his work to society, particularly to the world’s diabetic people, was recognized by US President George W. Bush who awarded him in 2008 in a White House ceremony the United States National Medal of Technology and Innovation. He was elected to the US National Academy of Engineering in 1987 and to the American Academy of Arts and Sciences in 2009. The first and the latest of his 20 awards, medals and honorary doctorates were from The Electrochemical Society: In 1978 he received the ECS Battery Division’s Research Award and in 2015 he was named the 78th Honorary Member of The Electrochemical Society in about 100 years.

Clare Grey (Biography)
University of Cambridge, UK

Krishnan Rajeshwar (Biography)
University of Texas, Arlington, USA

Hector Abruña (Biography)
Cornell University, USA

Jose Zagal (Biography)
Universidad de Santiago, Chile


2016 ISE Prize Winners and Award Lecturers

Electrochimica Acta Gold Medal
Hector Abruña, Cornell University, USA

Bioelectrochemistry Prize of ISE Division 2
Jacek Lipkowski, University of Guelph, Canada

Brian Conway Prize for Physical Electrochemistry
Marc Koper, Leiden University, the Netherlands

Early Career Analytical Electrochemistry Prize of ISE Division 1
Kosuke Ino, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan

ISE-Elsevier Prize for Experimental Electrochemistry
Nongjian Tao, Arizona State University, USA

ISE Prize for Electrochemical Materials Science
Claire Villevieille, Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland

ISE Prize for Applied Electrochemistry
Shaojun Guo, Peking University, China

ISE-Elsevier Prize for Green Electrochemistry
Javier Llanos, University of Castilla-la Mancha, Spain

Jaroslav Heyrovsky Prize for Molecular Electrochemistry
Ismael Diez Perez, University of Barcelona, Spain

Tajima Prize
Mikhail L. Zheludkevich, University of Kiel, Germany

Oronzio and Niccolò De Nora Foundation Young Author Prize
Lin Lu-Yin, National Taipei University of Technology, Taiwan