Scientific Program

Plenary Lecturers

Adam Heller (Biography)
University of Texas, USA

Clare Grey (Biography)
University of Cambridge, UK

Krishnan Rajeshwar (Biography)
University of Texas, Arlington, USA

Hector Abruña (Biography)
Cornell University, USA

Jose Zagal (Biography)
Universidad de Santiago, Chile
Professor at the Faculty of Chemistry and Biology of the University of Santiago de Chile, Jose H. Zagal directs the Laboratory of Electrocatalysis. He got his PhD from Case Western Reserve University in 1978 and was a posdoctoral Fellow at Brookhaven National Laboratory in 1982. He has conducted pioneering studies on establishing reactivity descriptors and volcano correlations for non precious metal M-Nx molecular catalysts covering not only fuel cell reactions like O2 reduction, but also for many other ET processes. He has also contributed in the field of conductive polymers, sensors and corrosion. He was awarded the Presidential Chair in Science in 1996 by a Committee chaired by Chemistry Nobel Laureate Rudolph A. Marcus. He has also received several other Chilean awards. In 2014 he was elected a Fellow of the International Society of Electrochemistry and also became a Fellow of The Electrochemical Society. He is President of the Chilean Association of Carbonaceous Materials and has been elected Vice-president of the Iberoamerican Society of Electrochemistry (SIBAE).
He has published 208 papers and 7 book chapters, co-authored and edited 4 books, and has been awarded 3 patents. He has served in Editorial Boards for J. Appl. Electrochem. (1988-2010), J. Chil. Chem. Soc. (1984-2007) Electrocatalysis, (2009-2015) and is presently a member of the Editorial Boards of: J. Solid State Electrochem., Internat. J. Electrochem., Electrochem. Comm., J. Serbian Chemical Soc., Electrochemical Energy Tech, and Chimica Nova. He has been a Guest Editor of Special Issues of the International Journal of Electrochemistry and of the Journal of Applied Electrochemistry.


2016 ISE Prize Winners and Award Lecturers

Electrochimica Acta Gold Medal
Hector Abruña, Cornell University, USA

Bioelectrochemistry Prize of ISE Division 2
Jacek Lipkowski, University of Guelph, Canada

Brian Conway Prize for Physical Electrochemistry
Marc Koper, Leiden University, the Netherlands

Early Career Analytical Electrochemistry Prize of ISE Division 1
Kosuke Ino, Tohoku University, Sendai, Japan

ISE-Elsevier Prize for Experimental Electrochemistry
Nongjian Tao, Arizona State University, USA

ISE Prize for Electrochemical Materials Science
Claire Villevieille, Paul Scherrer Institute, Villigen, Switzerland

ISE Prize for Applied Electrochemistry
Shaojun Guo, Peking University, China

ISE-Elsevier Prize for Green Electrochemistry
Javier Llanos, University of Castilla-la Mancha, Spain

Jaroslav Heyrovsky Prize for Molecular Electrochemistry
Ismael Diez Perez, University of Barcelona, Spain

Tajima Prize
Mikhail L. Zheludkevich, University of Kiel, Germany

Oronzio and Niccolò De Nora Foundation Young Author Prize
Lin Lu-Yin, National Taipei University of Technology, Taiwan